With the course nearly ready to open in 1899, the sound of hammers echoed from the “picturesque heights” above the 9th fairway as Patrick Doud constructed a clubhouse for Wawashkamo. Patrick Doud’s clubhouse design was well attuned to the changing building tastes of the day. He and the club founders agreed on a vernacular, one story, cottage-type structure, built Mackinac-style on a foundation of cedar posts. It was adorned with a columned porch wrapped around the north and east sides overlooking the 9th fairway and green. The vanishing old-growth forests of Northern Michigan (largely logged off by 1910) yielded a few remaining milled logs to be hand-finished as columns. The “front porch”, with its inevitable rocking chairs, was one of America’s most cherished symbols of the day.
The structure was to have been completed for $749, but club records show an expenditure of $1,217 to Patrick Doud. The last payment was made on July 27, 1900.
Today, the clubhouse and its “front porch” are popular places to gather, to relax, and enjoy the beauty of Wawashkamo.
Open to the public, our facilities can be used to host weddings, family outings, and corporate events. Visit our clubhouse to purchase logoed merchandise and golf essentials such as sweaters, shirts, hats, golf balls, and more.
Walk a Crooked Trail
Excerpts from Walk A Crooked Trail ‘A Centennial History of Wawashkamo Golf Club’ by Frank Straus and Brian Leigh Dunnigan